No Title

Rono Derrick
3 min readFeb 1, 2016

--

….it was nice conversing with you. Then we wished each other a goodnight. I was so worried about missing my flight the next morning but the night was still young though and i still wanted to have an experience of Long street. Definitely i would be a laughing stalk if i had travelled back without experiencing the night life of Cape. Anyway it was really good and i did enjoy the experience but that’s not one of the things i like talking about, it gives me a nostaligic feeling.

Several hours before we hit the long street i had met very brilliant minds including some of the top bras in the banking industry. All of them were quite interesting and they really wanted to see us pursue our dreams. My namesake who is the chief of design and digital strategy at barclays was also inspirational. Apart from being so friendly and carrying a Kenyan branded bag all the way from London to Cape town, he vowed that we will be great enemies if i failed to email him. Am sure you don’t want enemity with such people. But leave alone that, he mentioned something really really important that the “big boys” are scared of sharing revenue with startups. From the trends they have noticed that most of the startups are infiltrating into their field and making large chunks of money than they made in a whole decade. So the best strategy is to create an ecosystem to foster the mutual growth of this startups and bank which has been in existence before i was born, actually my grandpa account is still with them.

This tickled some part of my brain and i kept asking myself what is it that this people see in us that we ourself don’t see. The fact that they nominated me as one of the guys to pitch a product based on blockchain was overwhelming. Imagine beating 350 other young and energetic entrepreneurs in the whole continent (clap for me), thats the most amazing feeling i have ever had in my life apart from the fact that am alive today. Since then i have always seen myself to be very important and it has helped me view the world from a different dimension.

Since the beginning of 2016, i have wanted to be great and stick to my plans. I was really touched by the people i met and I believe that mentoring the small and upcoming talent is the best thing i can give to the most deserving and eager souls out there. That will also help me build capacity because i am building systems that will require the blood of a young soldier to hack. I also like learning from people, so i believe this would be a great learning opportunity for me. I would love to see them create businesses in their field of choice and also share ideas on how i can make my business great.

Starting and running a business ain’t easy, but you have to go outside there and get that shilling. Before you do that, you ain’t in business yet and yet this is just a baby steps. Sustainability is key and is the next step that i would be interested in talking about.

--

--

Rono Derrick

An adventurous ninja who finds beauty in solving problems using technology. I love sharing in order to learn. #EPIC