SYSK LOGO

Podcast Listening Challenge Week 6: Stuff You Should Know Podcast

Simba Mswaka
2 min readMar 26, 2020

Week six of this series and I was looking to find a pod that was different but I wasn’t sure what to listen to. I bumped into this podcast which is part of iHeartRadio and is popularly abbreviated as SYSK (Stuff You Should Know). Once I looked at the topics I was more intrigued to listen. I actually wanted to listen to the episode “How Monopoly Works” but I accidentally downloaded the episode “How Gold Works”, guess Gold is another form of money so its almost the same.

I had no expectations which is never a bad thing for a first time listener. Once the podcast started the hosts Josh Clark and Charles W. “Chuck” Bryant show why this podcast has been around as long as it is. They seamlessly introduce the podcast and get right to work in educating the listener about gold. They provide tit bits of information that valuable and stuff the average listener would not know. But what sets them apart from a podcast that just drivels out information is that the process feels so organic and they just add a small joke every 2 to 5 mins to keep it lighthearted. The jokes are not forced and the timing is not off at all. This is years of experience and chemistry culminating in great content. Not only is there a podcast but there are videos on Youtube and book on the way. This duo has this brand on lock and they experts at what they do.

Rubiks Cube Episode

In the episode they speak of Gold as “excrement of the Gods” and that is such a powerful statement that highlights why the commodity is still so precious till this day. They also give an interesting stat that more Aluminium is mined annually than all the gold mined in history (161 000 metric tons). While listening to this information I never felt like I was in class. It felt like listening to two friends having an informative conversation and I asked to listen in.

The episode is 50 mins and never drags at all. You actually don’t want the episode to end because the information is delivered in such a delicious manner. This is five star podcasting at its best and the type of content I signed up for. I really recommend this podcast and I will definitely listen to another episode in the near future. The Monopoly episode is certainly on my to listen list.

Till next week’s Podcast, you can read about last week’s podcast here: Week Five ( All the Smoke Podcast)

--

--