I’m Creating the Right Sign up — Daily UI #1

Douglas Hiller
2 min readAug 23, 2016

--

To keep up my skills and stay engaged I need these sorts of things like Daily UI challenges. They this keep me away from binge watching The Wire or Strange Things all day on Netflix when I’m not working…. Sometimes.

The first place my mind goes when thinking about sign up pages is: “ug, boring.” That’s probably my literal internal monologue the moment I read the www.dailyui.co Day 1 prompt.

So make it entertaining, slick, or different…

Celtx (a writing program for screenwriters) came to mind because their sign up is so smooth.

It’s like you almost don’t know you’re signing up. So slick and yet so efficient.

My Route…

I went for personality though. I want faces… I want stupid moving imagery. I sketched out the wireframes and created a motion version of a prototype in Principal.

The next step is to test. But for now this is fun to me. I like simple clean lines and a playful tone. Signing up should not feel like a job because it’s the interaction when a person is beginning to fully engage and commit to your product!! Have this first experience echo the experience of the product and be fun, somehow.

#dailyui #signup #my2cents

--

--