The Writer Within You

Dr. Patricia Farrell
The Startup
Published in
5 min readMay 25, 2019

--

Write what you need to know or where curiosity takes you

Copyright: alphaspirit

Everyone has a story or many stories in them, and each story can engage, emotionally move us, or be disturbingly boring. The difference in each is in the telling because I believe boring stories don’t exist. The storyteller is the vehicle, and like all vehicles, it’s how you use the controls and how you navigate the road that determines whether you are a good writer aka a good storyteller.

I like to write, and I want to learn, and that drives me to read and watch presentations on how to tell a good story. How many articles have I read, and what makes any of them useful? They’re all helpful to me. How could that be? Simple. I never expect very much from any of them. If I get one bit of anything from one, it’s all I need. They don’t have to push me to greatness or give me a formula for the great American novel, just a crumb, and I’m satisfied. All of them provide crumbs at the very least.

Today, I watched two complete TED Talks and bits of two others. As a result, I returned to a practice I used decades ago; writing the first line. When I…

--

--

Dr. Patricia Farrell
The Startup

Dr. Farrell is a psychologist, consultant, author, and member of SAG/AFTRA, interested in flash fiction writing (http://bitly.ws/S94e) and health.