Key Tips for Academics Wanting to Write for the General Public: A short guide for post-ac, alt-ac, or academics

Melanie Peffer
6 min readMay 8, 2020

--

In this five-part series, I am sharing insight on the path for post-ac, alt-ac, and current academics to create a book for a general public or trade audience. Writing a trade book can be an important stepping stone in an academic career or used as a pivot point for those interested in transitioning out of academia. Below is Part 5 of this series. You can read Part 1 by clicking here, Part 2 by clicking here, Part 3 by clicking here, and Part 4 by clicking here.

Some marketing strategies I use to promote Biology Everywhere, including custom stickers, flyers, and personal invitation postcards.

Congratulations! You have your book in hand. Now, how do you get your book sold and in the hands of your target audience?

The holy grail for getting into bookstores is to be listed on Ingram-Spark. Ingram is the biggest book distributor and where bookstores prefer to buy their inventory. Book buyers also prefer to buy books listed in Ingram that are offered with a full discount, and returnable. You chose the discount and returnable options when you submit your finished manuscript to Ingram. The only issue is that after offering a full 40% discount to the bookstores and taking a cut, Ingram pays little in royalties (I make about $4/book sold). You also can sell your book on consignment, and many independent bookstores will have consignment policies in place for local independent authors. Typically, bookstores will agree to take a certain number of copies on consignment for a set period of time and may also provide marketing support. After the agreed upon period of time, bookstores may request additional copies or send you a check and request that you pick up any unsold materials.

There are also other small tricks that you can do for marketing. For example, EcoEnclose is a company that makes custom branded packaging. I use EcoEnclose envelopes because they are recycled, recyclable, and reusable (which also fits with the message of my book), but instead of paying for their custom packing, I bought high quality stickers with my brand that I place on every book package. Then people see my message, and since it’s a reusable envelope, even more people may see it. Plus, my readers get the added benefits of packing material they can use, saving them a bit of money as well. I also sell these stickers on my website and use them for promotions, since laptop/water bottle stickers are fun (and free advertising for you!) On the same vein as marketing as something usable, I include free bookmarks with all books that advertise the Biology Everywhere online course I’m developing. The bookmarks are not only useful and promoting my brand, but simultaneously marketing my course too. I also carry flyers in my purse that include information on my book and social media information to hand out as I interact with others.

Since I paid extra to have higher quality books, I advertise paperbacks through my online store as “premium” (which is both true and a marketing strategy), and my hardback editions are only available directly from me (so I list them as exclusives to my store, which is also both true and a marketing strategy). I have a live events feed on my website where people can sign up for events and see what I have going on, which then stimulates people to think, “Oh, it would be neat if she came to my organization to do an XYZ event, too!”

To market your book (and yourself), signings and speaking engagements are a great way to engage with your audience, sell books, and build name recognition. With a book in hand, it is easier to schedule these events than if you were cold calling people or organizations. It’s your “in” so to speak. Interacting with your audience increases buy-in, and people will remember you and your book and recommend it to others. These gigs can snowball as people see you talk and want you to come speak at another event. Even if unpaid events, they can be a worthwhile way to sell books and to build a name for yourself. Bring a pad of paper and ask people to sign up for your mailing list — this grows your community and provides data that you can use to solicit a publishing deal. Although this is challenging right now in light of the #COVID-19 pandemic, there are still online options for connecting with your potential customers, such as Zoom based webinars or Facebook Live events.

If you are offering something on your mailing list (like a lesson plan or a listicle), people are even more invested in you and may share your newsletters with others, who then may sign up for your mailing list and/or buy your book and so on. Social media can be helpful to “funnel” people to your webpage where they also may sign up for your mailing list, therefore joining your community. If you’re trying to pivot out of academia, as you market the book you are also simultaneously marketing yourself. You are building your reputation as an author and authority on the subject of your book and not solely on your academic credentials. This makes you unique, more appealing in the “real world,” and is an effective strategy for opening doors.

How have I used my book, Biology Everywhere:How the science of life matters to everyday life to pivot? As I mentioned in Part 1 of this series, I’m working with the University of Colorado Office for Academic Innovation to turn Biology Everywhere into a massive open online course (MOOC) from which I’ll receive royalties. I also have multiple speaking engagements scheduled across the United States and upcoming radio and television appearances to talk about my book. I’m getting contacted by people who saw my work and now wish to collaborate. Once I sell most of the books in my first print run, my profits will cover what I spent out of my own pocket on the book. Ultimately, doors are opening as a result of my book, and my career is moving in the direction I want to go in.

In closing, there are a few things about Biology Everywhere that I wish would have gone differently. My husband joked with me that the extra expenses and imperfections are just hiccups of doing something for the first time. It certainly hasn’t stopped people from buying and enjoying Biology Everywhere even while I sit here and fret about my dust jackets.

When I set out to write my book, I decided to do it for myself. I didn’t need the approval of anyone, except for myself. It was a healing moment when I jumped off the hamster wheel of constantly trying to please everyone — and instead focused on a project that brought me fulfillment. The real lesson here is that writing for myself and not to please others leads to the same place: people enjoy my work and doors are opening. Except now, I’m so much happier because I’m working hard for me.

Nobody writes a perfect book. I recently saw best-selling author Diana Gabaldon, who wrote the Outlander series, talk about copyediting and mistakes in her novels. You can be a New York Times best-selling author and have the age of your characters change between chapters.

For those trained in academia, the image of perfection and feelings of imposter syndrome are pervasive and can be insidious to our innovation. How can I possibly publish a book if it’s not perfect? Writing a book, especially one about a topic you care about, is deeply vulnerable. Don’t let it stop you. The adage of a finished imperfect book as better than one that never gets published is true. Going back to Brené Brown’s work, the willingness to be vulnerable and risk criticism is a prerequisite of success. Now it’s your turn to write: what are you passionate about and ready to share with the world? I’d love to hear about it! Reach out on Twitter @Melanie_Peffer

Dr. Melanie Peffer is the author of Biology Everywhere: How the science of life matters to everyday life. She is interested in how people learn, understand, and engage with biology content. Visit www.biologyeverywhere.com for more information about her book, advice on writing for the general public, building an Alt-ac career, and upcoming speaking engagements.

--

--

Melanie Peffer

Melanie is author of Biology Everywhere:How the science of life matters to everyday life.