Dry February: Reflections on Sobriety, Modern Life, and getting lit

David Chicaiza
4 min readFeb 22, 2023

--

It all started when my girlfriend said, “I think I’m going to do Dry February, would you do it with me?” And I thought, “Sure, how hard could it be?” Famous last words, right?

For those who don’t know, dry February consists of simply not consuming alcoholic beverages for the entire month of February. The goal of the challenge is to encourage people to take a break from drinking, which can have various benefits for physical and mental health. It is a variation of “Dry January,” which was launched in the UK in 2013, and gained popularity worldwide

However here in the Czech republic where I live, there is a heavy and prevalent drinking culture (particularly but not limited to beer). In fact, the Czech republic drinks more beer than any other nation. Some say it’s because of this fascination with drinking that they chose the shortest month of the year for this challenge. I can not confirm or deny that.

Little did I know, this challenge would reveal a lot about my relationship with alcohol and the world we live in.

Photo by Jon Parry on Unsplash

I’ll be honest, I was a little worried about social interactions without alcohol. I thought maybe I’d been relying on it as a social lubricant a bit too much, and that meeting my friends sober would only expose how awkward I actually am. But, as it turns out, I didn’t need alcohol to have a good time or enjoy the company of my friends. I was relieved to find out that my relationship with my friends wasn’t based solely on alcohol.

But, as with anything, there were some downsides. Going out for a nice dinner without a glass of wine felt strange and uncomfortable. The sensation of intense sobriety was foreign to me, and at times, it felt surreal. Around the two-week mark, I even felt a strange sense of increased clarity and awareness. It was like I suddenly became more attuned to my surroundings and was able to process more information.

Now, as I approach the three-week mark, the novelty of the experience has worn off, and I feel more like myself. However I gained a lot of insight, and I was able to see alcohol consumption for what it really is t most people, a numbing agent used to alleviate the feelings of alienation and despair that come from living in the modern world.

We live in a world where most of us are stuck in jobs that we don’t like, enduring Monday to Thursday, and then finally escaping our unbearable sobriety on Friday night. Isn’t this what the corporate slogan: “work hard, play hard” really means? I’ve come to realize that to “play hard” is a shallow endeavor that only temporarily masks the malaise of modern life and doesn’t solve the underlying issues.

But also I’m not going to sit here and act as if alcohol was the source of all evil, and we should ban it. Let’s not kid ourselves, alcohol is fun. It can transform a dull and unremarkable evening into a pleasant and unforgettable one. Red wine particularly takes me to deep remote conversation spaces, where I’m able to find insights very difficult to find while sober. It can get us to admit truths that we would never say the next morning. It can be your wingman (or wing woman). But if you’re not careful you can black out, confess your unreciprocated love, make a scene, shout “Tequila” and proceed to throw up in the uber on your way home.

Photo by Omar Lopez on Unsplash

But let us not forget that alcohol consumption has a long and storied history that predates humanity itself. It’s been speculated that our evolutionary ancestors were consuming fermented fruits and other such substances, which may have helped them socialize and create bonds. In fact, some scientists even suggest that alcohol played a role in the formation of human society, allowing for the organization of larger groups and the development of complex social structures, ultimately weaving the fabric of society. While this remains a highly speculative theory, it is certainly intriguing. From Buddhist monks to homeless drunks, we humans have an innate desire to alter our moods and control our state of mind, whether it be through meditation, drugs, or alcohol.

So, what’s the verdict? Well, the point is not to demonize alcohol or glorify it. It is a complex substance that has played a role in the development of human society and has the power to both uplift and harm us. As with all things in life, moderation is key.

Personally, the feeling of absolute clarity at the end of a night out, and the lack of a hangover the next morning, are unbeatable. So while I can’t promise to not drink ever again, I will definitely cut back on my drinking, and be more mindful of it. This experiment has given me a new perspective on my relationship with alcohol, and for that, I’m grateful.

--

--

David Chicaiza

David is a software engineer living in fear he will be automated by an AI. He loves making music and creating stuff. (www.soundcloud.com/davidide)