6 steps to reduce your iPhone’s radiation

David Szabo
4 min readOct 13, 2019

--

The public’s reaction to 5G is concerning. Yet, all cell phones that are legally sold in the US must be below the FCC’s 1.6 watts per kilogram (W/kg) “Specific Absorption Rate” (SAR) levels, as measured by these standards. Without being the judge of who’s right, here are a few practical tips of how I’ve lowered the data emission and silenced my iPhone X.

1. I downgraded from LTE (4G) TO 3G

4G is the mobile communications standard that replaces 3G, allowing wireless Internet access at a much higher speed. 4G (LTE) has more radiation levels than 3G because of its capacity to carry huge amounts of data over a series of antennae in one handset. So, I downgraded my iPhone to use 3G, which is still fast enough to do my everyday things:

Go to Settings -> Cellular -> Cellular Data Options -> turn off Enable LTE

2. I made my phone less noisy while in my pocket/bag

I‘ve had a bad habit of carrying my phone in my pocket for the past 25 years. When I looked at the apps I have on my phone, I realized that many of them pull data off the internet while my phone is in my pocket. Because I haven’t used most of these apps, they essentially generated unnecessary 4G traffic while my phone is the closest to my body! Nonsense! Let’s do something about it…

I turned off Background App Refresh for over a 150 apps, with the exception of my Calendar app, so that it can download new events and won’t miss reminders. When my phone is in my hands, it’s a safer distance away from my body, where I don’t mind apps connected to the 3G network while I’m using them.

Notifications: for a second, I worried about missing some “very important” app notifications (which is something I should probably write a blog about), then I found out that Background App Refresh is not related to notifications. Push notifications are sent from a server to notify the app to send you a notification. Disclaimer: I only allow 26 apps (out of 150+) to send me notifications, and I only allow 3 of them to interrupt me with vibration/popups — one of them is my phone’s voice call app; SMS messages aren’t one of them.

Go to Settings -> General -> Background App Refresh -> uncheck all apps that you don’t want to generate traffic while your phone is in your pocket or purse.

3. I turn off Bluetooth when I’m not using it

Bluetooth is the weakest one in the power reception order:

WiFi > 4G > 3G > Bluetooth

And Bluetooth isn’t constantly communicating when not connected, but I find it unnecessary to keep it on. I use a charging cable to connect my phone to my car’s audio instead (which in turn also charges my phone).

4. I do voice calls with a speakerphone or with a Bluetooth headset

This is probably something that you’ve heard a hundred years ago. Invest into good quality headsets, so that you don’t end up putting your phone back to your ear because the other party doesn’t hear you. I like using my Bluetooth noise canceling in-ear headphones, which I can use for music as well as phone calls. The healthiest option in my opinion though, is a wired headset.

5. Turn off your Wifi router at night

WiFi is the strongest in the power reception order, capable of downloading speeds of 250 Mbit/second in my home. Here’s somebody’s opinion on Quora:

A wifi will blast you with 1000 to 6000 mV/m. This will degrade humanoid and mammal DNA and cause oxidative cell stress over extended periods of time.

My WiFi router was under my bed, constantly on. I’m usually asleep between midnight and 6am — so why would I degrade my DNA if I don’t use it? This was a no-brainer. So I made a hefty $8.99+tax investment to order a timer plug from Amazon. It’s now automatically off while I’m asleep.

6. And of course, turn your phone into flight mode while asleep

I hope you’re already doing this.

Radiate less & take it easy

Let’s see what this 5G thing turns out to be — it’s an amazing technological step, but we need to consider the health impacts too. For the time being, I’ll be spending less time radiating, less time reacting to notifications and more time offline, thinking, doing.

In my next post, I’ll talk to you about my plans in case a nuclear war hits San Francisco — for the time being, you can pre-order your Potassium tablets at Amazon! :)

--

--

David Szabo

Director of Product Marketing, Cortex Data Lake at Palo Alto Networks. Can be caught loudly singing while running through Golden Gate Park without shoes.