Track your learning effort

abby
3 min readJul 21, 2017

--

It’s been almost a year since I started my first course in Interaction Design Specialization last September. During the first 7 courses, I’ve learned a lot of UX concept and methodology through the courses and the exercises.

Now I’m at the final stop of my Interaction Design Specialization — Interaction Design Capstone Project. There’re couple of design topics options and I picked the time related one “Mission: Redesign the way we experience or interact with time.”

I started the Need Finding (Week 2) by interviewing people about their time tracking during work and during life. The people I interviewed didn’t show strong need for work related time tracking, so I focus on the life event time tracking during the Idealization (Week 3).

My Point of View (Week 3)

“Travellers love to record their experience in a journey with photos, words, videos and so on, and share with friends about it. Learning a subject is like a journey as well. Learner wants to track their progress and measure their success. Learner wants to know other learners’ experience and share their own experience. And it’s important to stay motivated to accomplish the learning goal.”

My Story Board (Week 4)

My first prototype (Week 4)

After Heuristic Evaluation (Week 5), I made my first mobile web Home screen.

In Week 7, I prepared the app prototype using Invision.

In Week 8, I got a lots of great feedback during in-person tests which led to a better version of the app.

  • Change “Search…” to Search Subject (Participant was not sure what’s the Search object here)
  • Change “Last Activity at” to “Last Tracking at” (Participant was unclear what does the Last Activity refer to)
  • Change “Track” to “Add Tracking” (Participants both thought Track button link to Track History, change to action oriented wording)

In Week 9, online testing gave me more information such as how users used the app, what confused them, so I made more adjustments to the app.

  • Bold the Subject Name
  • Add the View Tracking History
  • Change the “Add Tracking” button

Now it’s week 10, I am happy with my final prototype and really enjoy the entire journey with Interaction Design Specialization.

Unlisted

--

--