The Question Asker-er: Tactics on How to Use Questions to Get What You Want/Need

Sarah Dzida
6 min readOct 21, 2017

At the end of my last post, I said that I planned to continue exploring how to ask and craft powerful questions. Thanks to everyone who read along (a whole lot of you!) and I hope you’ll find this second entry just as intriguing. Onward!

The first thing we must remember is why we ask questions:

To interact with people, duh.

But why do we ask questions to interact with people?

I think it’s mainly for two reasons:

  1. To get information that we need in order to do things. This information can range from learning someone’s name, to what the weather will be like in Chicago, to the purpose behind a client’s project, to why someone has lived their life in a specific manner!
  2. To prolong the interaction. This is essentially info-gathering, too, but the difference is the point of the information is for the interaction itself rather than the answer and what it will let us do. That’s how we find out all those mysterious things that make people who they are. That’s how we build relationships and connections with strangers on trains, in line, on Twitter and in real life.

So with that said, what I have for you are three question-asking tactics that I recently recorded. I’ve ranked them from easiest to hardest. Let me know what you think!

LEVEL 1: Beginners

--

--

Sarah Dzida

UX + content strategy consultant by day; creative writer by night. Check out my new hybrid memoir: Dearest Enemy! www.sarahdzida.com | www.dearest-enemy.com