Faces and hands

David Travis
2 min readOct 3, 2017

--

I visited a retirement community in Solihull and made portraits of some of the people who lived there.

Norman

“I had those tatoos done when I was a young lad in 1944. I joined the Navy when I was 17, a stroppy Jack. I thought I was a sailor but one thing I wasn’t going to have was tattoos. I was a pal with a Scotsman. He used to tell me about his escapades with the ladies. He went for a tattoo and I sat there and said, ‘I’m not going to have it done’. Then he got up. ‘OK, next one please’, so like a bloody idiot I had those done. 17, I thought I was a sailor. ”

Dorothy

Diana

“My words of advice for young people? Don’t let anyone spike your drinks.”

Barbara

Margaret

“That’s an Amsterdam ring, from Amsterdam!”

Lorna

Pauline

“Save for your pension.”

Rita

Joan

“Advice for a young person? No, I’d have to think about that.”

Tony

Audrey

“Enjoy life!”

This is photo story 37/52. More details about this project.

You can find me on Instagram500pxFacebook

If you enjoyed my images, please press and hold the ‘clapping hands’ icon below. This makes it more likely Medium will show my story to other people. Thank you!

--

--

David Travis

Portrait and landscape photographer. Attempting to understand what makes a good photo story.