Impressions of the Northumberland Coast

David Travis
3 min readJun 17, 2017

--

There’s an obvious way to tell the story of the Northumberland Coast in landscape photographs. This would be as a journey from (say) Berwick-upon-Tweed to Blyth. I could show you a map of the area and then illustrate it with the photographs I took.

Sadly, much better photographers than me have already done this. (Joe Cornish, for example). So instead, I’ve made a small selection from the 1500 photographs I took: just 26 images. I’ve organised them in a sequence to convey the impression that this stunning area had on me. The sequence isn’t determined by geography but by visual motifs that connect one image to the next.

I’ve also decided to present the images as a slideshow. This isn’t my usual way of showing images and I’m aware that asking for 135 seconds of attention is a big ask on the internet. But I do think this is a better way to capture the visual link between images. If you don’t care for the video, I’ve included the individual images below.

This is photo story 24/52. More details about this project.

You can find me on Instagram500pxFacebook

If you enjoyed my images, please click the ‘heart’ icon below (this is equivalent to a Facebook ‘like’). This makes it more likely Medium will show my story to other people. Thank you!

--

--

David Travis

Portrait and landscape photographer. Attempting to understand what makes a good photo story.