Lighting glass

David Travis
2 min readJan 28, 2017

--

I spent the morning lighting cocktail glasses.

Glass can be tricky to light, partly because it’s transparent and partly because it reflects everything. I used the’dark field’ method for these shots.

With the dark field method, you highlight the sides of the glass and protect the glass from direct light. This was my set up.

Some of the glass shapes are really quite attractive.

I also tried the ‘bright field’ technique. You need a lot of black fill cards to ensure you get a dark edge to the glass to reveal its shape.

Finally, I tried light painting the glass (and the background) with a torch.

This is photo story 4/52. More details about this project.

If you enjoyed my images, please click the ‘heart’ icon below (this is equivalent to a Facebook ‘like’). This makes it more likely Medium will show my story to other people. Thank you!

--

--

David Travis

Portrait and landscape photographer. Attempting to understand what makes a good photo story.