South of the border

David Travis
2 min readApr 8, 2017

--

When I was growing up in East London, I got the impression that there was something deeply untrustworthy about people who lived South of the Thames. Even cabbies wouldn’t go south of the river after midnight. It was dangerous. They weren’t like us. So I spent almost my entire youth in the East, West and North of London. But rarely the South.

It was time to face my demons. I headed across the border.

The London Eye from Golden Jubilee Bridge
Southbank Skateboard Park. Probably a South Londoner. Best not to talk to him.
That’s the thing about South Londoners. They respawn so quickly.
The beach at OXO Tower Foreshore
A fantastic sand sculpture. Must have been done by someone from north of the river.
Underneath Blackfriars Bridge
White poplars outside the Tate Gallery
Millennium Bridge
I found these four people having a picnic on Millenium Bridge. They had set up a table and everything. How terrific.
Big Ben from Westminster Bridge

This is photo story 14/52. More details about this project.

You can find me on Instagram500pxFacebook

If you enjoyed my images, please click the ‘heart’ icon below (this is equivalent to a Facebook ‘like’). This makes it more likely Medium will show my story to other people. Thank you!

--

--

David Travis

Portrait and landscape photographer. Attempting to understand what makes a good photo story.