In the last general election, UKIP came in second to Labour.

UKIP’s final frontier?

David Travis
2 min readFeb 11, 2017

I spent some time this week taking photos in Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent where there is an upcoming, keenly fought by-election about to take place.

Stoke has been a Labour stronghold forever but the UK Independence Party (UKIP) are hoping that the political drift to the right signals their chance to unseat Labour.

I contacted the UKIP candidate, Paul Nuttall, to ask if I could spend a day with him taking photographs while he canvassed in Stoke. I even related my anecdote about photographing George Galloway in the Houses of Parliament, but he must have been deeply unimpressed as he didn’t reply. Instead, I took a trip around Hanley.

The three famous sons of Stoke are Sir Stanley Matthews, Robbie Williams and John Smith — the Captain of the Titanic.
Stoke comprises six towns: Stoke-on-Trent, Hanley, Burslem, Longton, Tunstall and Fenton. Hanley, seen here, is the main shopping centre.
Most of the shops in Hanley are either running permanent sales…
…or are closing down.
Webberley’s bookstore was a feature of Hanley for over 100 years but went bankrupt in 2015. The shop is still unoccupied.
Like most towns, it has its Poundshops but you’ll also find pawnbrokers.
That’s “pawnbrokers” plural.
I spotted this large sign in a shop window, but I’m not sure how to interpret it. I imagine the child replying, “That’s good mum. Now we don’t need to rely on that feckless ex-husband of yours”.

This is photo story 6/52. More details about this project.

If you enjoyed my images, please click the ‘heart’ icon below (this is equivalent to a Facebook ‘like’). This makes it more likely Medium will show my story to other people. Thank you!

--

--

David Travis

Portrait and landscape photographer. Attempting to understand what makes a good photo story.