Interviewing Vtubers: Taiga Chama Pt. 1

The fourth interview in the series where I talk to a cat that serves alcohol and spits the truth. You gotta love Vtubers!

Duane Morrow
9 min readJan 13, 2023
Art by Jouvru

Taiga Chama is a bartending cat-man and a member of the Vtuber group known as Invicta. He’s on the eighth of his nine lives and decided to open a bar to entertain the masses.

When Taiga streams, he mostly does “Just Chatting” streams with a sprinkle of gameplay. He usually leans towards JRPGs, strategy, and story-driven games due to severe motion sickness. He said, “I can’t play a lot of games that are considered popular in the Vtube community such as Fortnite, Apex, and stuff like that. So, I have to make up in other areas of games so I don’t vomit my brains out.” He’s played games like Genshin Impact, Potion Craft, AI: The Somnium Files, and Pokémon.

When I asked Taiga how he would define a Vtuber, he had an interesting response, “Because my journey to becoming a Vuber was so unorthodox, I feel my opinion on what makes a Vtuber is a little different. I feel like what makes a person a Vtuber is that they work extremely hard on focusing on their content creation and entertaining others. I know there are things like Vtweeters and Vartists but for a full-fledged Vtuber, they have a model (PNG art is fine too), they are focused…

--

--

Duane Morrow

I’m a writer who wants to help people save and make money while trying to figure out a novel.