MyFitnessPal Barcode Scanner Goes Premium and What To Use Now

MyFitnessPal Puts Barcode Scanner Behind Premium Paywall

DuBois
3 min readAug 25, 2022
Photo by Anna Pelzer on Unsplash

MyFitnessPal has finally done it. They have figured out how to squeeze every last penny from their users as possible. On August 24, MyFitnessPal decided to put the barcode scanner behind a subscription fee. For those unfamiliar with MyFitnessPal, MyFitnessPal is a smartphone app and website that tracks diet and exercise. Now that the barcode scanner is a premium tool, I personally see no reason to use MyFitnessPal as a free user any longer. I generally wouldn't mind paying a reasonable monthly fee but $20 is too much for my taste. In my opinion, the barcode scanner was the best part of the application!

You could seamlessly scan the barcodes of food from your phone, with a couple of finger taps you could have your food logged into a food diary. For those that haven't used the application a food diary is a log of your food for the day. A food item in that diary shows the calories and macronutrients such as carbohydrates, fats, and proteins of said food items within the diary. Oh, wait did I say macronutrients, sorry free users, that feature is premium as well! Counting calories and tracking your macros is hard enough so having that barcode scanner was a huge value add for most users in my opinion.

What Should You Use

Before I give my recommendation I do want to let you know that I do have a stake in the application I am going to recommend to you. That being said, I wouldn't recommend something that I don't believe in and wouldn't use myself.

What if I told you that there was another application out there that has all the same features as MyFitnessPal but is completely free and will always be free to the end user? Not only can you track your diet and exercise, this application gives YOU every feature you need to holistically manage your health while also allowing PARTNERS like pharmaceutical manufacturers, health systems, and payors the ability to integrate their patient support programs directly into the application. You can do this all from your fingertips on iOS and Android right from the Redi Health app!

What Is Redi Health

Redi Health is a holistic health management app that empowers users with tools & resources that consolidate the health experience. Tracking your health & care habits doesn’t have to be a difficult task. With Redi Health, you get access to intuitive & helpful tools that help you manage your health & save money on medication costs to bring you the support you need.

I believe here at Redi Health, we have already built the solution that will allow users to holistically manage their health and save money while doing it using our tools for FREE! If you think it's too good to be true, check out our app store reviews.

Interested in Connecting?
Follow me on Twitter
You can also follow me on Medium if you want to be notified when I publish new stories!

--

--

DuBois

Just a dude that writes software for fun but now also gets paid for it.