Hi Drew. We decided to remove this tip as it was just causing confusion. On reflection, it doesn't seem to really pose a privacy risk because whether the setting is enabled or disabled, the Mac will not automatically connect to open networks. When enabled, it will at least ask the user via a dialog box. When disabled, networks have to be connected to manually.