Why you need to stop looking at other people’s faces

This is a lesson I learned the hard way.

davíð matthías
2 min readFeb 28, 2023
What am I thinking? You have no idea!

Do you even know who you are?

Here is what I would say to myself a couple of years ago if I could meet up with me for a coffee:

You must learn to be yourself.

Do you even know who you are?

Learn who you are. And then live out of who you are.

Let’s get a little more nitty-gritty.

Stop looking at other people’s faces!

When you look at people’s faces, you create fiction in your mind as to what they are thinking, and more often than not, what they are thinking about you.

Stop that! Why?

For the following reasons:
1. They are probably not thinking much about you
2. They are probably thinking about what you are thinking about them!
3. There is a very high percentage that you are wrong about what you think they are thinking about you (following me?)
4. When you incorrectly (or even correctly) perceive what others are thinking about you, it changes your behaviour. Your perceptions alter the way you think, speak, and act. You have to break this pattern.

--

--