The benefits of writing out scripture

The third discipline I am writing about is the practice of writing out scripture.

davíð matthías
2 min readFeb 27, 2023
If I try hard my writing can be legible!

By “scripture” I mean the Bible.

This is something that I’ve done on and off for a couple of years, but whenever I do it, I find it incredibly refreshing.

Firstly, it is the living word of God. In Paul’s second letter to Timothy (chapter 3, verse 16), he writes that “All scripture is God-breathed.” In other words, God “breathed” it out into the men that wrote these ancient words. The words in the Bible are not just words; it’s not just another book. It’s breathed out by the living God. This means when I spend time writing out the words, that in itself enables something of the living of word of God to dwell in me more richly.

Secondly, I find that as I am writing the words, slowly, focusing on making handwriting legible (!), different thoughts come to mind. Perhaps a solution to a problem I’ve been thinking about the past few days, or a moment of clarity on another piece of writing, or whatever. It’s like writing out scripture somehow clears away cobwebs in my mind and allows me to think more clearly. I can’t explain how that happens.

I am part way through writing out Peter’s first letter, towards the end of the New Testament. If you have a Bible, I recommend you try this. Get yourself a journal, and start slowly writing out the words. You may be surprised at what happens.

--

--