GSoC ’18 with Intermine — Week 2

Aman Dwivedi
2 min readMay 27, 2018

--

Another GSoC week got over today. So, now we are entering the third week of the GSoC Coding Period. Last week was not so productive for me, I had to travel to attend the graduation ceremony at my college (yayy…finally graduated :D), yet I managed to achieve the target and I’m way ahead of my proposed timeline. Till now, I have been able to finish off with the intermediate infrastructure of the project. I have also been trying to make the application more mobile friendly and soothing to the eyes of the user. I’m a great fan of Steve Jobs and his ideologies of an awesome product. I believe that a piece of software should be a blend of art and technology. So, I tried my best to come up with some great colors and design on the UI front too. I hope everyone likes it. It shows some resemblance with the Bluegenes application as well. I have also been trying to improve the performance of the application using some good programming practices. I hope that the final project will be extremely stable and efficient.

The target for this week was to render the search results in the application. I have chosen the cards layout for the same. Every card will be clickable, which will take us to the particular result item page. The card shows some brief information about the result item and I have also planned to add a detailed information (using IM Tables) popup modal with the cards. The popup modal will open for the respective card when the symbol ‘i’ is clicked. This will be implemented in the upcoming weeks.

I have also received a few suggestions from my mentors and the community, which I will implement this week. I would love to have more feedbacks. That’s all for now. Thanks for reading. Happy Coding folks :)

--

--