8 ways to crush your 2018 goals

Dylan Sather
4 min readJan 16, 2018

--

This year, I’ve set a goal to write more, so a post about goals seemed like a good way to start.

It’s difficult to wish goals into happening. You’ve got to have a system for accomplishing them. I’ve refined a few strategies over the years that help me tackle goals, and I’m hoping these might help you achieve your goals in 2018, too.

1) Break it down and make it concrete

Yearly goals seem daunting. I’ve set a goal to run 1,000 miles in 2018. On its own, that number sounds large. But it’s only 19 miles a week. As much as I love running, that’s achievable.

For concrete, quantifiable goals, break it down into weekly or daily chunks, and make it a habit (see #2).

Breaking down abstract goals is more difficult. I’ve also set a goal to “write more code to learn new things”. There’s nothing concrete there. Left like that, the goal would wither and die. So I’m forcing myself to develop 6 projects (see #5) — one every two months — to produce a tangible output and keep me focused. Attach a number to all your goals to make them more concrete.

2) Make it a habit

Attaching daily or weekly habits to each goal consistently helps you achieve more, and helps you constantly check in with your progress. I need to run about 5 times a week to hit my 1,000 mile goal. If I miss a day, I know immediately that I’m behind.

Last year, I wanted to learn the front-end web development ecosystem, so I spent 30 minutes a day learning something new: reading an article (the JavaScript Weekly and React Status newsletters were incredibly helpful), poring over docs, and writing code.

For learning a new skill, 30 minutes a day is better than carving out 3 hours every Sunday. With daily attention, your skills stay fresh and compound quickly.

Perfection (doing this every day) isn’t required. Last year, I only did this 3 of every 5 days, on average, but I still saw incredible gains. I’m shooting for 4/5 this year.

3) Develop a routine

People who wake up with the sun scare me. I’ve never been able to operate productively at that hour. But I aspire to it, if only to carve out dedicated time to focus on these daily habits. I’ve set a major goal for this year to develop a morning routine to spend 30 minutes running, 30 minutes reading, 30 minutes writing, and 30 minutes coding. This should help solidify habits for each, and get me closer to these respective goals every day.

Evening routines have always been easier to manage, but since I push my work to the evening, my mind ends up racing with ideas late at night, which affects my sleep. This year, I’ve also got a goal to practice a before-bed routine, to stretch, read, and meditate, easing into sleep.

Carve out whatever time you can for yourself, even just 15 minutes a day, and start being deliberate about how you spend that time. Congratulations — you have a routine!

4) But don’t make it routine

If I run the same route more than once, it gets old. My motivation tanks. This year, I’m going to mix it up and run to new parks, stairs, or just down a new street.

This doesn’t just apply to running: I spend all day coding and read technical books at night. This is too much tech. I want to recover my passion for fiction and spend more time away from the computer.

5) Make it a project

This year, I’d like to learn more about maps, and more about front-end web tech. I’m very passionate about visiting the green space that surrounds us in San Francisco, so I’m creating a map of every public green space in the city (the city government provides these data to anyone).

Projects are the best way to learn, because there’s a tangible goal you’re building towards. If it’s something you’re passionate about, you’re driven to build it and the learning comes for free.

Companies make the best “projects”. I’ve learned more about software engineering building Rate That Meeting than on any other project. I’m forced to build something for customers (I’m beholden to people, which keeps me going). The buck also stops here — no one else will build the things that need to get done, so I’ve got to learn how to do it.

6) Cross-pollinate goals

I want to run more, write more, explore the city, and build more front-end tech. I’m going to run to every public green space in San Francisco, and other unique places in the city (stairs, piers, and more) and blog about these runs. I’m tying writing to passions (running, exploration), making it a project, and making sure my runs are not routine (running to a new place each time).

7) Celebrate getting most of the way there

It’s incredibly tough to achieve all of your yearly goals. A lot changes in a year, and life throws some amazing experiences at you that aren’t on your list, but are still worth pursuing.

Personally, I find it tough to celebrate the achievement of a partial goal. If I finish 70% of a goal, I clearly just need to work harder next time. But that’s the wrong approach. Many companies feel the same way: teams that use the OKR (Objectives and Key Results) framework to set goals claim that:

The “sweet spot” for an OKR grade is 60% — 70%; if someone consistently fully attains their objectives, their OKRs aren’t ambitious enough and they need to think bigger

It’s a healthy perspective: aim high and celebrate getting most of the way there. You’ve spent a year challenging yourself in some big way, and you’re 70% closer than where you started. And if you achieved 100% of that goal, aim higher next year!

8) Celebrate the goal state of mind

Just setting goals already makes you special: you’ve created the frame of mind to pursue some improvement for yourself, your family, and others. First, celebrate that. Then, break it down and start doing a little bit every day to get there.

Good luck!

--

--

Dylan Sather

Building https://pipedream.com . I love making programming simple for beginners and experts alike!