My New Podcast App

Dylan Wilkinson
2 min readJan 21, 2019

--

In a previous blog, My Favorite Apps Of 2018, I listed the Apple Podcasts app as number 10 mainly because it was familiar. It’s the podcast app I started with a while back and it’s organized and designed much like the Apple Music app. So it just made sense for me to go back there after not being a huge fan of Overcast. I really do enjoy listening to podcasts but it seems like I’ve had a problem finding a podcasting app that I really like. One that’s beautiful, well organized, easy to use and understand. Like I said previously, Apple’s Podcast app still didn’t really do it for me but I pretty much gave up my search. The Apple Podcast app did what I needed it to do, it worked well enough.

In a pursuit to be more productive, I’ve been really trying to pay attention to how I use my time. Trying not to confuse busyness with productivity. Because of that, I’ve been trying to fill the little bit of free time I have with reading books or listening to podcasts. I recently stumbled across a new podcast, How to money, and I love it (we’ll talk more about that later). So much so that I joined their private Facebook Group. While scrolling through there I noticed a post from one of the hosts asking where people listen to their podcasts and offering up that he uses Castbox. Castbox is something I’ve never heard of so I was intrigued. I checked out their website and was impressed at first site. Their website is beautiful so the next stop was the App Store.

I headed over to the App Store and downloaded it. It’s free so I was expecting ad city. I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised. I opened up the app and wasn’t hit with a blinding ad and to be honest, I haven’t really noticed any ads at all. You can even use the app without creating an account, which I thought was great. It gave me the chance to try the app out a bit before diving in…I’ve been burned before haha. Needless to say, I loved it so much that not even 10 minutes later I created an account and replaced Apple Podcast.

Just a few great features include:

  • Playback speed adjustments
  • Trim Silence
  • Volume Boost
  • Alexa Skill
  • CarPlay Support
  • Apple Watch Support
  • Android App
  • Web Player

If you don’t love your podcast player or are just looking for a change, you should definitely give Castbox a try. And if you do, let me know what you think. :)

*Disclaimer: I’ve only been using this app for 2 days but so far I love it! It’s beautiful, easy to use and understand, and it works with Alexa!

--

--

Dylan Wilkinson

Christ lover | Husband | Dad | Photographer | Videographer | Designer | Musician