When It’s Okay To Let Your Toddler Cry

No cry parenting is a myth.

Erin King
Curated Newsletters
15 min readDec 27, 2019

--

Image by author via Canva.

Let’s get this out of the way right off the bat: “No cry” parenting is a myth, it’s impossible, it can’t be done.

Take a beat, let it sink in, and stop trying to achieve something that's impossible.

Feel better? Good.

Now I’m going to tell you when it’s actually okay to let them cry and not try to make them stop.

Because making them stop often means pandering to bad behavior and giving a pay-off when there shouldn’t be one, even if the payoff is just your attention.

How do I know this? Because I’ve had a home daycare for almost 10-years and I’ve learned a thing or two. I can reverse engineer behaviors back to parental interactions and I can tell how a child or even an adult became who they are.

You can choose to disagree with this article, that’s fine, but if you want an insiders insights, keep reading.

Children cry for many reasons, some valid, some not, I’m going to let you in on when they’re…

--

--

Erin King
Curated Newsletters

Writer, musician, toddler wrangler. Author: “How To Be Wise AF”, a 30-day prompted journal-find out more on Amazon. Contact me at howtobewiseaf@gmail.com