I told a boy these words today

Ami
4 min readNov 23, 2023

What does ‘I love you’ get as a response these days?

Photo by Emmanuel Phaeton on Unsplash

I figured I’d just tell him everything I’d been feeling. I hinted a couple of times how I felt and he must have known it was coming.

So there’s this guy (when is there never🙈🏃‍♂️?) I really really like and that was not the plan in the beginning. I barely spoke to him way back in school and I can’t say we had a relationship. We reconnected after 10 years and the rest, they say is history. Well, it would have been if he had said the words back to me😢.

We’d been talking for a while, I enjoyed spending time with him. He was easy to talk to and I wasn’t bad myself 😅 but he was so good at keeping the conversation going. I could go on and on with him on the phone. I remember when I reached out to him, he was kind enough to pay attention and to buy into an idea I was selling. I was surprised, to say the least, he barely knew me and we had no relationship before. Thinking back, I wonder why he didn’t hesitate. I guess that’s just the person he is.

I can’t get over just how kind and nice he is. He is so nice, I guess maybe that’s why I like him. I was drawn to him from the very beginning. I couldn’t get enough, I wanted to talk to him every day, wanted to spend all the time I had after work with him. I got so comfortable talking to him that he became my person. I’d…

--

--

Ami

Storyteller. Content Writer and Poet. Writing topics on personal development and self-care. I write short fiction, poems and real-life experiences too.