Open Letter to the Bird Watcher

Eve Williamson
4 min readJul 16, 2020

--

A bird watcher

Good day Mr. Christian Cooper,

Thanks to your recording of the racial intimidation you experienced millions of people were allowed to get a small glimpse of the lives many black people live daily. Let me type that word one more time, D-A-I-L-Y.

When we attempt to share our realities, we often hear:

Playing the race card again.

Oh, that is not what they meant.

It’s all in your head.

Just get over it.

You have no proof.

Amy Cooper played the race card.

Amy Cooper and many others know exactly what she meant.

And we know too.

Amy Cooper demonstrated she knew what is in the head of the American conscience.

Black people are inferior and getting too uppity. Let’s remind them of their place.

Amy Cooper isn’t over it. Many of the Black Lives Matter allies aren’t over it.

Personally, I have experienced racism for a half-century.

Would people be so quick to tell a rape victim to get over their experience whether it lasted 10 minutes or 24 hours?

Outside of a racist skinhead or member of a white supremacy group have we heard anyone suggest the Jewish people get over the holocaust which ended?

Black people are still in the grip of Jim Crow and systemic oppression after enslavement.

Let’s chew on that for a second or two.
Yet, many will say, “Oh they just complain and whine about being black in America! Get over it.”

I can’t speak for you. I love being black and what it means as far as my heritage of people working to overcome enslavement, systemic racism, oppression, third-class citizenship, and the stripping of their knowledge of specific origin and traditions. Hence I refer to myself and my multiracial children as black or African-American. I can’t tell you if my people are from what is known today as Senegal, Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Angola, Congo, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Nigeria, Cameroon, or Gabon.

Many others and I are not complaining about being black in America. We are complaining about America through financial institutions, housing institutions, judicial institutions, religious institutions, government institutions, prison systems, education institutions, medical institutions, and it’s policing marring our lives. America reminds us every day of how it sees us. Amy Cooper reminded you on May 25th, 2020 in Central Park, New York.

The same Central Park was a thriving black community, once upon a time. Until old-school gentrification viciously made the black businesses and families move with intimidation and threats of violence. Businesses and families who were not even compensated for their land, homes, and property.

As a black woman, I do not assume I know how you feel. We are totally two different individuals with different perspectives and life experiences. What I can type is you are not alone in being on the receiving end of racism in motion as we try to simply live our lives. You happen to have proof.

When we are outwardly unemotional and react with calmness, we are often criticized for letting it go or not being angry enough.

When we question, outwardly show our disgust, frustration, and anger at the rude interruption of our lives we are often labeled angry, aggressive, agitators, and instigators.

Today, I find myself perplexed by the requests for you to cooperate with the Manhattan DA with their prosecution of Amy Cooper. I also find myself highly disappointed in those I often read or listen to.

Mr. Cooper at this moment, my hope for you is self-care.

You handled yourself respectfully and smartly.

You documented the attempted threat on your life.

You shared it with whoever chose to watch the evidence you shared.

You even participated in interviews giving much insight into what the video didn’t show us.

You were a victim of racial intimidation which I consider a terrorist threat considering the climate of our country for the last 400+ years. Amy Cooper demonstrated her knowledge of the systemic oppression of black people and the placement of white women on the pedestal. A pedestal that in all irony doesn’t give her equal relevance in our white male-dominated power structured society. The pedestal is that of a porcelain doll.

I mean look at our truth. A seasoned intelligent strong presidential candidate, a white woman was beaten by a silver spoon grown brat. A man who cheated small businesses over and over again for the work they completed by claiming shotty workmanship, knowing they didn’t have the funds to fight him in court. I could go on and on but I shall digress.

It amazes me that you’re trying to live your life and people are demanding you do X, Y, & Z. Is this how we treat victims? Do we attack them? Oh yes, that is right we do attack victims of rape, domestic violence, sexual harassment, discrimination, child abuse, and black people who speak up.

As I end this letter Mr. Cooper know that I am thankful for your documenting racial intimidation and introducing me to the world of bird watching! You continue to conduct yourself in a way that brings meaning and joy to your life. A life that matters.

Black Lives Matter isn’t just a hashtag. It’s the voice of millions of mothers and fathers crying out for the quality of their children’s lives.

Hope and happiness to you,

Eve

Please note:
The questions posed and not answered are there for you the reader to answer and make the connections.

--

--

Eve Williamson

I read. I write. I think. I love. I eat. Really, I eat a lot.