How Do I Transfer Boot Drive Data to A New Drive?

Deepti Tripathi
2 min readMar 21, 2024

Low disk space bothers me, thus I wish to increase my boot drive to 1 TB. To avoid a full Windows installation, I want to relocate my data from my old boot SSD to the new one. How can I transfer boot drive data to a new drive, and how should I do it?

Cloning is the best and simplest approach to migrate boot drive data to a new disk without data loss or Windows reinstallation. You need professional disk clone software for this- BLR Tools

Computer updates sometimes include boot drive migration. Windows doesn’t have disk cloning software to replicate the boot drive, which is frustrating. Making a bootable USB to reinstall Windows and all its apps is hard and time-consuming, and most people don’t want to do it.

Fortunately, there’s another method. Cloning can move data from one SSD to another without reinstalling OS and apps, but you need third-party data recovery software.

BLR Tools Windows disk clone software is trustworthy and effective. It can move your C drive to an SSD and migrate your OS from HDD to HDD, HDD to SSD, and SSD to SSD. It can also clone a disk with faulty sectors, transfer data from an old hard drive to a new one, and build a WinPE bootable drive to start your new PC.

Copying your boot disk to a new HDD/SSD:

Step 1. In “Disk Mode” choose the old PC drive as the source disk and press “Next” to clone the boot drive.

Step 2. Select the new PC-connected disk as the destination.

Step 3. Select “Autofit the disk”, “Copy as the source”, or “Edit disk layout” to check your new drive’s disk layout.

Step 4. Click “Proceed” to begin.

Cloning is the finest boot drive migration method. This requires BLRTools Disk Copy, a professional data/OS migration tool.

--

--

Deepti Tripathi

I work as a Product Consultant. When it comes to MS Outlook and Office 365, I write about the newest tech tips and offer unique solutions.