Edward Faulkner
1 min readAug 10, 2015

--

My conclusion after reading the article and exchanging some discussion in comments is that you’re taking on a pioneer role in the community. That is awesome, and we need people to do that, but it is not for everyone all the time. There is no downside to waiting for things to settle down and shake out before adopting them.

Adopting the new lifecycle hooks is an example of what I mean. Yes, a blog post talked about them. But only a tiny minority of Ember users are going to rewrite their components based on that, before there are any published examples, guides, or API docs. The vast bulk of the community will have a much smoother time later and will benefit from the pain experienced by the early pioneers who find all the bugs and documentation gaps.

I have had times when I let my own Ember app fall many releases behind, simply because I was busy shipping app features. That is totally fine. Once I had time to spend and compelling new features to gain, the release-by-release upgrade went fine.

--

--

Edward Faulkner

Entrepreneur, hacker, runner, photographer, traveller and dad.