Autophagy and Intermittent Fasting: An Exercise Scientist’s Explanation

Fasting Secrets by Tim
3 min readFeb 15, 2020

Bare with me as I get on my nerdy glasses for a moment. It may just be the exercise scientist geek in me, but I think that autophagy is SUPER COOL!!!

…and my goal is to convince you of this by the end of this post.

According to an article on healthline.com (here), “autophagy is the body’s way of cleaning out damaged cells, in order to regenerate newer, healthier cells.” In other words, autophagy is when your body replaces your old, broken-down, weak cells with newer, better, stronger ones! Isn’t that sweet! So yeah, autophagy is a good thing, it’s good for your whole-body health.

See What Experts Say About Intermittent Fasting HERE!

Terry Crews, the uber-famous actor known for his insanely fit 51-year-old body, has been an intermittent faster and advocate of fasting for about 5 years now. He explained his love and understanding of autophagy in an interview with Business Insider (here) where he stated,

Over the last five years it’s really kept me in great, great shape. They found, scientifically, there’s a thing called ‘autophagy.’ Autophagy is when the cells in your body are rebuilding themselves. It’s one of those things where you

--

--

Fasting Secrets by Tim

Intermittent fasting coach. Exercise Scientist. Fasting saved my health. Don’t you DARE let the world change you when you were born to change the world.