POV

What is the point of view in “They Both Die At The End”

Ebba Utigard Skarpnord
2 min readFeb 9, 2022

In the novel we get our information from a first-person narrator with multiple perspectives. This is called a multiple viewpoint first person. In the book Mateo and Rufus take turns telling what they experience, in every other paragraph.

I consider this to be an important element in “They Both Die At The End”, because it makes room for personal details about the characters and we get to know them in a sensitive and personal way.

Here are some examples of the point of view:

Mateo: “I have to do better. Everyone wanted so much more out of me, myself included. I have to honor this. It’s my last day to do so”.

Rufus: “Malcolm gives me a little smile. His playing-it-cool game is a weak cause I know hes been losing his head, they all are. I would too if the cards were reversed”.

The storyline in the novel is a fight against time. One of the parts I particularly love is how Mateo and Rufus complement each other’s parts and makes the story complete. It will be interesting to see how the use off a first-person narrator with multiple perspectives will be used later in the novel. Maybe Mateo and Rufus have different opinions and interpretations about events that happen? Then the use of the narrator will be clear.

Love, Ebba❤

--

--