Theme

What is the theme in “They Both Die At The End”?

Ebba Utigard Skarpnord
3 min readMar 10, 2022

I was wrong in my last post when I said it was my last. Fortunately, I have found a new and good update for you, and we will dive into the theme of the novel today.

The theme of various literary works is the action described on a deeper level. For example, a book about war may have love as its theme. You may think that the theme in “They Both Die At The End” was obvious, considering the title. Death is a lucid theme in the novel, but “They Both Die At The End” is about so much more than death.

The novel deals with various themes, such as love, identity, joy of life, fear, friendship, family and death. In this post I will tell you about two of these themes and conclude with one theme which define “They Both Die At The End”.

Mateo and Rufus

The first theme we will look at is love. In my post about the conflict and plot I mentioned that I thought Mateo and Rufus would end up in a romantic relationship. I can finally disclose that I was right. One of the last activities Mateo and Rufus does, is to sing at a karaoke bar. In the end of their performance, Mateo finally kisses Rufus and admits to his feelings for him. I consider the relationship between the boys as tense, because Rufus was open about liking boys, but Mateo was not. Nevertheless, it became clear that they were meant for each other as the story developed. Love is one of the most important aspects of life and I am happy that Mateo and Rufus died knowing they were true to themselves.

The second theme I will talk about is death. One of the things I enjoyed about this book was its perspectives on death. “They Both Die At The End” shows how fragile and unplanned our lives are, and how important it is to live our lives to the fullest. As I said in the settings, this novel takes place in a futuristic world and knowing when you will die is impossible. On the other hand, death will hit us all and it is something we cannot control. The one thing we can control is how we live our lives until that day comes. Mateo and Rufus had to live a whole lifetime of experiences in just one day. They had plenty of conversations about what they wish they had done with their lives and they also had many regrets. However, the boys decided to live their last day to the fullest and ended their lifetime happy in the end.

To conclude I believe that the theme of “They Both Die At The End” is to embrace life, enjoy every second of it and do the things that make you happy, because one day it will all be over.

Love, Ebba❤

--

--