Trust the Process

Hannah
3 min readOct 26, 2021

--

This week, I would like to back up and give a broader overview of the entire drying, firing, and glazing process within pottery. I explained last week about cones and firing, and now would like to put that explanation into better context.

When non-potters ask me about ceramics and how long a certain piece took to create, I am always stumped to find an answer. Are they asking how long this bowl took from raw clay to right now, glazed and ready to be used? Or are they asking how long my hands physically manipulated the piece of clay?

To better understand my confusion to this question, I’d like to outline the process of creating a bowl.

  1. Start with throwing raw clay. I use porcelain.
Clay centered on the wheel

2. Throw the bowl. Depending on my balance and/or mood, this may appear effortless or really haphazard… :)

A wheel thrown bowl on the wheel

3. Let it dry. This requires utmost patience. I usually let dry a day or a few, depending on the size of the piece.

Ceramics drying on the shelf

4. Trim. This happens once the clay is leather hard, meaning hard enough to handle and not ruin, but still soft enough to be manipulated.

Trimming involves refining the rim, cutting off any extra clay, and adding my stamp, *HE*.

Ceramic pot, work in progress

5. Wait…a few more days. The clay must be completely dry before putting into its first firing, the bisque (low cone) firing.

Ceramics drying on a table

6. Once the clay is bone dry, I apply the underglaze. This is a process of hand painting my texture onto the piece before firing. I could do this after the first firing, but I usually do it before.

7. The clay is bisque fired to cone 6. Usually, this takes about 36 hours, for the kiln to get up to temperature, fire, and then cool enough for the ceramics to be removed.

8. If I am making a food safe piece of pottery (bowl, plate, mug), I will glaze it with a clear gloss. This protects the piece, and makes it non-porous, so it’s safe to eat off of.

9. Another firing! This time to a higher temperature, making the glaze essentially glass and finishing the ceramic piece.

10. Finally done!

After the second firing, the piece is finished and ready to be enjoyed!

Finished ceramic bowls

Why does this seem so complicated?

That’s because it is! During any step of this process, there are a multitude of things that may go wrong. Most potters (myself included), tend to lose about one in ten pieces due to firing, drying, or glazing mishaps.

So, to circle back to my earlier consideration: how long does this take??

Hands on, maybe about an hour or two, tops. Overall, usually three weeks!

--

--