A Poem about Anxiety and Depression

alwaysevolvingeb
2 min readOct 6, 2019
Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

I’m always in a fair mood.

When someone asks how I’m doing, I say I’m fine or I’m good.

I usually get asked those questions at work. Even though I say those positive words, it’s not my truth.

My inner voice pops up and says, “you are not fine and you are definitely not good.”

Most times my tone doesn’t match my words.

It’s like I’m being fake and real at the same time.

I have to pretend to be good.

It stressful to do so when I feel like shit on the inside.

I don’t mean to come off rude, boring, or uninterested.

This is just what it’s like living with anxiety and depression.

Some days I don’t wanna get out of bed.

I don’t wanna go to work.

I just wanna lay in self-pity.

I wanna drown in my thoughts.

I wanna listen to sad music.

I wanna grieve.

I wanna replay old memories.

I wanna think hateful thoughts.

I wanna not be here.

No, I don’t wanna to die.

--

--