I Dated a Carnivore.

Elizabeth Brobeck
2 min readNov 24, 2015

Yes, it is true. I dated someone who was the epitome of a standard american, who ate a standard american diet. I let myself see beyond what they ate. However, for a year and a half of my life, I was with someone who was the complete opposite of me. This was a good and bad thing.

I was given the opportunity to experience how the bulk of America lives, not only from my significant other, but from their family as well.

Growing up, I am from a metropolitan area, most people where I grew up are into fitness and health. It is rare to see anyone really overweight or even someone smoking. When I was with my ex, not only did he smoke, but his whole family did. They did not like to exercise or be active at all. The way they lived went beyond everything I was ever taught growing up.

I am currently studying Advertising, and just being around him and his family, I learned so much about how the bulk of America lives. I had been sheltered my whole life, living in a city enviornment. I did not really know what was going on in the midwest or south. I learned just how susceptible people are to advertising. When there was a commerical on television or even online, they were effected.

Given all of this we did get along, except when it came to fitness, health, animal rights, and women rights. While all of those sound like deal breakers, and eventually they were, I saw beyond the politics even just for a little while.

--

--