The year needs you to be good

Awosika Israel Ayodeji
4 min readJan 2, 2023

--

Happy new year to you, just like you I am excited about all that the year holds. As a believer, many prayers have been said and we have had so much motivation and good vibes passed around in our individual religious places, by religious leaders, and even on social media.

Saw many posts about their goals and resolution for 2023 and yes they are amazing goals and resolutions for the year, however, looking at a number of posts about what many wanted to achieve in 2022 and what they eventually achieve, concluding that the days of the year do not eventually play out as many imagine it k/to be will not be bad. Personally, I was able to move past some goals but some were not achieved, occasionally in consolation, I reminded myself how I had wanted to get married at the age of 24 but at 24 I was still trying to understand life and keeping someone’s daughter waiting for me (story for another day lolz).

Am I saying it is wrong to have goals or resolutions? NO! Am I saying you should have an excuse for not meeting your goals or attaining your resolutions? Far from it! Since you are the one with the goal/ resolution, the goal needs YOU to be a reality. I love the way Udoka puts it on Twitter “Change your discipline) but discipline alone doesn’t define all you have to do.

One day during our marriage counseling session (it was a group counseling in a church), a lady ask the question “how do we deal with outsiders (third parties in marriage)”, and the man taking the session asked how many people are getting married, the lady responded “two” and the man taking the session continued that the outsider or third party can only have influence as much as you two allow! You two have the power to choose how the third party comes in, how much influence they have, and how you allow them to affect you.

Personally, that response changed how I let others, situations, events, and circumstances get to me because I own myself, own my decision, and I can decide how I choose to react to events and circumstances (doesn’t mean I don’t overreact sometimes oh, I am human and I can only try).

Also when you drive or you are learning how to drive, they often say you think for yourself and the other driver cos everyone is not sane on the road (haha yes we saw a faaji Lagos man yesterday driving towards Maryland go off track ones in a while, driving at his back I had to calculate the timing to pass by him and I was horning to let him know I was coming, guess what (haha) baba looked high and was using “scope” to keep the car on the road).

In both scenarios above (the counselor's response and the driving one), You have the biggest role to play cos your goal is your goal, and events, circumstances, economic situations workload/work drama, human effort and spiritual forces are like cars that drive in front of you and drive into you in traffic (if you stay in Ibadan and drive days the traffic are bad along Iwo road) and in some cases, you have the decision to dodge the car or allow them to hit you, you also make the decision of cursing them when you dodge or wait and fight after they hit you and you still leave cos both of you no get pass third party insurance. And in some cases, you do not even have control over them hitting you or not cos some just run into you (with no money in their pocket to repair your car and they still “shepe” (curse) for you.

In 2023, all projections will not go your way or align your way, but YOU have the power to either stay calm and find a fix or become depressed and stuck looking for the time when the situations will favor you (which might never happen).

With YOU in charge, look at your goal and find the way to achieve it, when you hit the walls, keep calm and find a fix, talk to people that can help (some won’t help though, take your L and move on), get a mentor, seek help (therapy, medical), take the course, take that vacation (you don’t need to go abroad), take that holiday to clear your head, say yes to that guy and start that relationship (you won’t know the experience if you don’t start). Many times the solution we need is in that failure we face, don’t break down each time you fail or get a No, look inward (make I no lie it’s not easy oh), apply for that job, resign from that job and finally work and operate the year with God! Divine instructions and words make it easy and give the confidence to deal with some physical failures and situations.

In all, the year needs YOU (spiritual, physical, mental, positivity etc) to be good and take time out to thank and celebrate yourself at intervals

--

--

Awosika Israel Ayodeji

Uncertified relationship amateur, relationship gists and gossips