Nasturtium… the “Indian Cress”

and edible, no less!

Ed Buziak
5 min readJul 2, 2023
Nasturtium illustrated in Familiar Garden Flowers from 1907— Image © Ed Buziak 2023

Whenever I come across a display of glorious plants in the gardens I visit, my curiosity is usually piqued enough so that on my return I have to immediately refer to what I have long considered to be essential guide books for plants, the 5-volume set “Familiar Garden Flowers” by F. Edward Hulme, published by Cassell & Company in 1907, a year after the companion 7-volume set of “Familiar Wild Flowers” by the same author.

I found both sets on a trader’s bookstall in the small market town of Devizes in Wiltshire some forty years ago, and they have been an invaluable reference, as well as a delight to read, ever since. The ‘garden’ plants volumes will eventually go to my eldest daughter living near Denver, CO, who is a wonderful market gardener despite the semi-desert climatic conditions of the region; whilst the ‘wild’ set will find its way to a small island between Vancouver Island and the Canadian mainland where my youngest daughter is surrounded more by a wet wilderness.

Latin names are universal

However, I looked in both volume’s indices for Nasturtium and on finding no reference thought the plant was possibly a more modern introduction or hybrid. Silly me… when in doubt always look up the Latin name… and there Nasturtium was, under Tropaeolum majus, but…

--

--

Ed Buziak

Abstract artist... Stock photographer... Minimalist... Plant-based... Fixie rider... ’60s Art student, if you can remember the ‘60s.