The Journey | Learning to Draw(Part 1)

Ed Cahill
2 min readJan 6, 2018

--

I’m terrible at drawing. Always have been. The rest of my family? They’ll all incredible artists. That’s the fucking problem, though. I’ve just told myself that my entire life. I’ve never actually tried to draw. Not once.

So after being tremendously inspired by my fathers work, a trip to the Louvre and a desire for a new hobby, I’ve decided to actually sit down and give this thing a go.

Prior to today, I’ve put in about five to six sessions by myself. Just working on various things like spheres, cubes, and trees. Today, I started working through “You Can Draw in 30 Days”. My sister picked it up for me for Christmas (yay for supportive family!).

I’m going to chart my progress and talk about each lesson here. Brace yourself. This could be rough.

Lesson One: The Sphere

I’ve spent a few days drawing spheres before this lesson. Honestly, these looked worse than the ones I had done previously. I might chalk this up to listening to J. Cole while sketching instead of my usual “Ambient Chill” playlist.

The top right one felt good. I’m trying really hard just to relax my hand and feel like I’m getting the best results when I do.

The extra credit on this lesson was an apple. I really struggled with it at the start. I find one of the hardest things for me to overcome has been the incomplete image. I get discouraged when I first start sketching and things don’t look right. I’m finding out more and more, though, that eventually things will come together. Even if they don’t, you can kind of force it. I felt like I had to really force it with the apple, but I’m moderately happy with how it turned out.

Up tomorrow? Overlapping spheres. Don’t get too excited.

--

--

Ed Cahill

Tech. Games. Space. Personal journeys. I’m a dude. He’s a dude. She’s a dude. We’re all dudes, HEY.