“lego minecraft 21115” by mureut.kr is licensed under CC BY-ND 2.0

Quick guide to host a Minecraft Bedrock server using Docker

How to host a Minecraft server to connect/play from iOS/Android apps

Edgar Gonzalez
2 min readAug 13, 2020

--

My 6 years old son recently got into the Minecraft world, and I like to think that playing games like Minecraft, offer a bevy of educational benefits because it involve coding, collaboration, and participation with peers. Because of that I jumped into the task to host a simple Minecraft server where my son and his friends can play in a safe way.

After download and installing the Minecraft Java Edition server and not be able to connect to it using the Minecraft running in an iPad, I learned there are two different versions of Minecraft: the Java Edition and the Bedrock Edition.

Minecraft Java servers (normal, original, desktop version) are not compatible with Minecraft Bedrock Edition clients (iOS, Android), and vice versa.

So, I needed to run a Bedrock server to allow my son and his friends using iOS/Android Minecraft apps to connect to it. I was thinking on running the Bedrock server as a Docker container, but before reinventing the wheel I searched in Github to see if someone already have done this, and I found this nice project that was exactly what I was thinking looking for, a Docker Minecraft Bedrock Server.

--

--

Edgar Gonzalez

Current iteration: Director of Software Engineering @StreetEasy/@Zillow | Previously: Director DevOps & Data @BlueApron · @Piictu (@TechStars) · gonzalez.io