How to Overcome Impostor Syndrome

Edi Sipka
4 min readDec 23, 2022

Imposter syndrome is a thought pattern in which you doubt your own abilities.

Learning something new can be really hard.

Do you know what is the worst case? Being in your comfort zone is the worst case.

You are losing hopes because you’re not challenging or improving yourself. I’ll be talking about myself, my thoughts, and how I overcame imposter syndrome during my learning-to-code journey.

Giving someone a compliment or making an effort to motivate them is simple, but motivating yourself is extremely difficult. I made the decision to become a software developer before a year ago. I enjoyed repairing computers and tablets, as well as constantly reading about technology, so I figured that it would be much simpler for me to work as a software developer. I began to learn on my own, purchased very few Udemy courses, searched web articles, and made a daily learning plan. Things went so smoothly as I practiced as much I wanted on the day as well as I felt comfortable.

I spent little more than four hours a day practicing. Three months later, I discover I’ve made no progress. I have lost my motivation and am losing myself reading complex stuff that I cannot comprehend. I do not see how I can become a developer in this way. Throughout my search, I came upon Microverse. Microverse is an 8-month boot camp where you learn a variety of languages to become a full-stack developer. I signed and entered.

The Microverse program is divided into six modules, each of which lasts for one month and a week. Once a module is completed, you go on to the next. Each module builds upon the one before it. Due to my independent learning, the first module, which covered HTML and CSS, was not challenging for me. I was able to pass it, but I learned how tough it would be during my final week of Module 1. While on Microverse we were expected to learn it in two days, as a self-learner it took me ten days to learn flexbox and grid. I then started freaking out at that point. To be a part of it, I didn’t think I needed any prior experience.

The worst time I’ve had as a software developer so far was during the second module of JavaScript. This module’s first day was a living horror! After reading instructions, watching videos, and calling my partners, I realized that I was unable to understand anything. I panicked in the beginning. I didn’t see a way out of that. Day 2 was the same; I spent almost 10 hours attempting to comprehend at least something, but with no effect. As the days went by, I began to seriously consider quitting — quitting permanently. I was thinking that I was not born for programming, and you have to be.

I experienced disappointment and shame. I managed to get through week one, but then week two arrived. You recall that I said that week 1 was awful, therefore I am at a loss as to how week 2 was for me. Hell stacked on top of hell. I have no idea what I did the week before. Because the tempo of bootcamp is so fast, so I called one of my friends and told them I didn’t want to continue. He advised me to give up and return to my comfortable, everyday life.

At that point, I make a strong decision to be a developer “no matter the stress, no matter the time.”

I had a strategy for how to do it, and the most crucial piece of advice is this:

“Practice and time are the keys; don’t overstress yourself, and have faith in the process.”

Before I conclude, let me offer you a few tips on how to overcome it:

Almost everyone has an imposter syndrome.

It’s estimated that 70% of people will experience at least one episode of imposter syndrome during their lifetime. Many people with imposter syndrome don’t talk about it, for fear they’ll be exposed as fraud if they speak up. It is normal to have it and it is a part of growing.

Share how you’re feeling

It can feel scary sharing what’s going on inside your head with someone else, but it can also be really useful. Choose someone you trust and try and pick a time they aren’t too busy. I feel it is important to share your feelings for it provides you to not have the weight of them on your shoulders as much.

Find a Mentor

Mentors can advise you on how to get to your goals faster. Coding can be challenging, especially for beginners. Having a more experienced mentor who has overcome the same problems you’re facing provides an inspiring example to follow.

Measure your successes.

When you feel like an impostor, one of the hardest things to grasp is how much of a role you have in your own successes. You might default them to luck or others’ hard work, when in fact, your own work, knowledge, and preparation had a lot to do with it. Take a note and write down at least 10 things that you are proud of.

Accept it

Since practically everyone experienced imposter syndrome, you are not alone, as I already stated. Recognize and accept impostor syndrome when you begin to doubt your skills. Remain calm, take a big breath, and carry out another task. Take your time, practice some meditation, and then continue your journey after a few hours or days.

Let’s have a virtual coffee!

You can get in touch with me so that we can have a virtual coffee if you are considering becoming a software developer or are struggling with impostor syndrome. Even though I don’t have a lot of experience, I can at least provide you advice and inspire you. You do because I had few pals who helped me along the way. It’s cool to share your stories and thoughts.

--

--

Edi Sipka

Interested in programming and business development.