My Piscine at 42 Silicon Valley

Edith Puclla
4 min readJul 5, 2020

--

“Swim, swim, continue swimming Pisciner, until the end”

Hello there! I am going to share one of the brightest life experiences I have ever had; it is about the Piscine of 42 Silicon Valley.

If you are passionate about learning technology, coding, you like challenges or you want to improve your software development skills, I recommend looking for information about this school 42 Silicon Valley, it’s free! ;)

42 Silicon Valley School

School

42 Silicon Valley is a leading, innovative, and free software engineering school in the Bay Area. The school is located in Fremont California, United States. You can find more information here 42 Silicon Valley

My Piscine

After having made inquiries about the school, I applied to it and in a few days I received the acceptance response to the Piscine January 2020, it was exciting! :’)

#42SiliconValley Piscine January 2020

What is Piscine?

The Piscine is an intensive code program from Monday to Sunday for 28 days in which you will have to face many code challenges, it will give you a taste of the 42 programs and the 42 community.

The challenges

“11:42 PM will be in your memory for a long time”

From the first day of my Piscine, 11:42 P.M. became a special hour. Lots of energy in the lab! Everyone working to deliver our work of the day.
I was very happy after passing some evaluations, but other days brought frustration. It will depend on the energy and perseverance you assign to finish your challenge of the day and how to overcome obstacles and frustration. Have fun doing each of the projects, the adrenaline will be the fuel that will allow you to continue until the end of the Piscine.

Most of the time what you will see will be Coding Coding and Coding … you will spend most of your time coding … beautiful right?

You will have challenges every day, enjoy these, share with the community of 42, help others, and let yourself be helped, and is all I could tell you for now! the rest you have to live in your own Piscine.

Teamwork

My Flag

The 42 Silicon Valley labs are nice, the computers pretty well-kept, and the desks well-conditioned.

The community is there, people of different nationalities, religions, customs, habits, and backgrounds. That is the wonderful thing about 42 the community.

At the entrance of the laboratory is my flag “PERU”, left by my compatriots who were in previous Piscines. On the first day of my Piscine, I sat next to my flag. Find yours, I’m sure you will find it!

Peru flag

Push-ups Time

Mornings start very early and a good way to do it is recharging energy, participate in the Push-ups time.

Let’s do 42 Push-ups time! , This will help you in your next hours of work, remember, don’t give up!

The Cantina

Enjoy the food made by our chefs at 42, it is really delicious and nutritious, our chefs pamper us with a fruit every day, and in the evenings for dinner, they make generous meals that will leave you satisfied … yum! yum!

Breakfast is on your own … in the morning prepare a delicious breakfast, eat fruit, oatmeal, and drink water. Eat healthily, you will need it every day, otherwise, you will be exhausted.

The way

From the bedrooms to the laboratory there is an excellent view, trees of many colors, flowers, and you can enjoy the sunset while you walk, they were the moments that I enjoyed the most in the 28 days that my Piscine lasted. I was also delighted with the sports fields to play basketball, where I usually have a good time.

Do you want to play? let me know and we can play when you be here :)

See us again

Everything had been so fast. On the last day of my Piscine, I played the best basketball game with my friends. After the game I got to my bedroom I looked at my best friend, together we sighed and said: “We did it, we finished the Piscine!”

If you manage to get past the Piscine, the next stage is to be a Cadet, to be a student of 42 Silicon Valley.

Cadets 2020

Thanks to all my Pisciners who helped me and accompanied me to swim, thanks to the 42 Community. Now we are 42 Cadets! another stage! another challenge!

I hope you liked the article, share it, or tell someone for more people to know about this opportunity.

--

--

Edith Puclla

Software Engineer at 42 Silicon Valley | Computer addict | Container Enthusiast, interested in DevOps, Cloud, ML, and IoT.