Meditations on Meth: An Ah-Hah Moment

Ed Kressy
5 min readFeb 19, 2019

--

People sometimes ask me:

Was there an Ah-Hah Moment, when I knew I had to quit drugs for good?

Not really…like many of us persons who struggle with addiction, I mostly got sick and tired, of being sick and tired

Although over the course of my two decades of addiction, many little moments coalesced into the closest something to that Ah-Hah Moment

Here’s a story very close to the truth; one that begins and begins to end on a dreary and disturbing North Beach night in October 2007

I’m eleven years into my meth addiction, have taken up residence in a hotel in the theater district

Meaning, I live above a strip club, in a rent-by-the-week single room with a sink in the corner…the sink is where I wash my clothes, ash my cigarettes, and urinate

Amid the flashing neon beckoning mostly male partygoers into places with names like Big Al’s, the Roaring 20’s, and the Hungry I

And the drunken revelers’ howls

Allen Ginsberg strode these North Beach streets, and even today Jack Kerouac — his larger-than-life-size picture, anyway — stares roughly east, perhaps past the towering dagger of the Transamerica Pyramid, towards where he began his heroic journey West, in On the Road

I, deep in the throes of methamphetamine psychosis, often believed myself a hero, fighting the vast conspiracies against me

Destitute, my life’s savings gone — much of it to the strip clubs

Not showered or brushed my teeth in months

Dressed in filthy Ben Davis slacks, black baseball jacket, Converse shoes bound with duct tape…no socks or underwear, nothing like that

For years, I‘d partied at a back table in my favorite club

Flinging fives and fifties!

Buying rounds of drinks, and half-hours in the Champagne Room

With an entertainer who went by the stage name Harpy

Harpy was my girlfriend…

(Meaning, she rightfully took my money in exchange for not dispelling my various self-delusions)

She was a beautiful human being, with a kind soul, a solid heart

She drank Corona, a wedge of lime lodged in the bottle’s long glass neck

The skin of the fruit the same green as her eyes

The green in her eyes, flecked with gold

She wore a tattoo of a harpy…

A mythological half-woman, half-bird

Greek poet Hesiod writes: “…the Harpies…in the speed of their wings keep pace with the blowing winds, or birds in flight, as they soar and swoop, high aloft.”

I believed myself high aloft, gazing into Harpy’s gold-flecked eyes…

Convinced, in those hours between midnight and dawn that shimmer like a plucked guitar string, an optical illusion of substantial steel shrinking thin as its resonant sound fades

That I’d found — in my drug-addled strip club lifestyle — a pinnacle of existence, the methamphetamine dream

Yet when the gold in my wallet disappeared, so did Harpy’s green eyes…

(The rest of her, too)

I spent a disastrous summer working as floorwalker for the Larry Flynt’s Hustler Club

I’m grateful to the owners of the Hustler Club: They hired me, gave me a chance…

Yet I made them pay for it

Stole money, showed up high for work, carried a bottle of Jack Daniels in my tuxedo jacket pocket

The Club (rightfully) fired me…

Which brings us to one dreary and disturbing Friday night in October 2007

In my flophouse hotel, I “clean” my tuxedo…

(The tux, left over from my Larry Flynt’s floorwalker days, is the only clothing I own other than the Ben Davis slacks and baseball jacket)

To clean the tux, I’ve invented a trick whereby I pop open a can of shoe polish, stolen from the supermarket

Light it afire with my meth torch, hold the smoking sludge up to the tux

Turning my suit a nice, deep, black

Looking real sharp! Or so I believe: Sharp, for a few minutes, anyway…

Until, maybe from the wax in the polish, the tux starts to turn yellow

I look as if a swarm of bumblebees mistook me for a flower and tried to pollinate me

As if it isn’t bad enough…

The one shirt I own looks like a light-blue pajama top

I slouch downtown, work my way to the Hyatt hotel

Where in the lobby, a massive statue, globe-like, towers within the pyramiding terraces outside the guest rooms…

It must be the most fantastic temporary home ever built!

I slouch to the bar, and lurk about

(A bee-pollen pajama-top James Bond, blending in)

A patron leaves behind a half-finished drink, I slosh it down

Feeling Eyeballs upon me

In a banquet room, a wedding reception is taking place, I stand on the fringes

The loneliness and despair like that towering globe upon my shoulders, hating the world for the mistakes it let me make

In the past four years, five couples had married, ten of my closest friends…one couple asked me to serve as best man

Can you guess how many of those weddings I attended?

Zero

I return to my North Beach hotel room, pee in the sink, smoke the stub of a joint and the residue left in my meth pipe

The following morning: Dawn, and drugs all gone…

I borrow a broom from the parking lot attendant across the street

Start sweeping the sidewalks outside my flophouse hotel

Cigarette butts and cracked plastic cups

Hoping to be rewarded with a free cup of coffee by the owner of the cafe down the street

(It had happened once, but never again)

I pause my broom, send my gaze down

Back in those days, the strip clubs used to print advertising flyers with pictures of their entertainers

On the sidewalk below, what do you think I see?

Two green eyes staring back up at me

Some part of me that needs to confess, admits…

All along: It had been a lie

The life I’d led was a delusion

To my left, the gaping maw of the Broadway Tunnel

Like the mouth of the glass meth pipe from which I’d smoked my life away

Cars zipping and zooming into the tunnel’s blackness, like what I’d lost to my pipe

My home, career, relationships…even my dog

(To name just a few)

To my right, the glittering waters of the San Francisco Bay

The storied West Coast to which I’d escaped, two decades before, seeking promise and opportunity

The sunlight sparkled off the water, like diamonds in the waves

Those diamonds were brighter than the gold in Harpy’s eyes

My choice that October morning was clear…

I haven’t used meth since, and don’t plan to

In the twelve years I’ve been clean, society has allowed me to contribute

Amazing people inspired me to pursue a spiritual path of self-improvement and being of service

I’ve been allowed to contribute to organizations that assist formerly incarcerated people find jobs and start businesses

My family has taken me back in

Life is a series of wonderful opportunities to be grateful

Thanks to a practice of meditation, spirituality, and lot of hard work

And even more help…

Today, each day presents its own Ah-Hah Moments, in which to give thanks for all that’s been given me

Get your free copy of my PDF: “Ten Helpful Questions to Ask if Someone You Love is Recovering from Addiction” at www.edkressy.com

Contact me at ed.kressy@icloud.com

--

--