Evan Duffield
1 min readJun 29, 2017

--

I looked up the amount of nodes we presently have on each server farm, with this url: http://178.254.23.111/~pub/Dash/masternode_ISPs.html

I would say we basically have 8 or 9 different providers. While I’m not extremely happy with that figure at this point, it’s understandable. In the future, we should be able to have more than that, not really less though. I’m not sure why you would think otherwise.

As we mature, masternodes become bigger boxes that require a specific set of specifications, for example they’ll require a high-end cpus, high-end graphics cards, a disk array and low-latency networking. It seems to me that we should be able to do that from outside of co-locations even, building our own farms at various dash centers / offices, allowing our own decentralized co-location services. The type of hardware is literally available to be taken everywhere, the type of fiber I’m guessing has a high availability in most metropolitan areas.

I think we just need to say we’re targeting more decentralization and seek solutions to this as we build the network. We definitely have the option to not build out everything like it is now.

--

--