1066 And All That

Edward Hibbert
3 min readJun 14, 2019

--

Battle is the site of the famous Hastings of Battle, when William dashed through to get to his Heirbnb. He was often in a rush, and was later known for the Hurrying of the North.

I started in Hailsham, and walked across marshes to Herstmonceux. One of the ditches was clogged with waterlilies, and looked like a different kind of path. Possibly for frogs.

According to Google there is a cafe at Hertmonceux, but there were inhospitable signs denying access to the grounds from the rights of way, and I couldn’t reach it. I gave up and headed on to Boreham Street instead, which has a tea room that actually wanted customers.

From there I went to Brownbread Street, which is a great name for a place. Clearly brown bread nourishes them well — on the wall of the pub there were lots of pictures celebrating their successes in tug-of-war championships.

I, on the other hand, felt a bit faint all day. It didn’t seem to stop my legs moving, but I felt as though I was sleepwalking. On days like this I find it hard to remember that there was a life before walking and will be a life after.

Later in the afternoon I met a couple lying in a meadow. They were having a leisurely walk back to Boreham Street, where they lived. We chatted for a while; they wished me well on my walk, and I wished them well with their sitting.

Tonight I’m being collected by Bridget, who used to live in Edinburgh but considerately moved to near here years ago ready to provide me with food when it was needed. Nice of her.

Meanwhile. according to tagging on Twitter, I am also appearing as Lady Bracknell in Cape Cod.

If you’ve read this far, please consider sponsoring a mile of my walk for Freegle. Click here to do that or see my route.

--

--