In Praise of Failure

--

One of the worst names to be called today is that of failure or loser. In such a success-driven society, we want to live off our accomplishments. The discussion of failure is often taboo. We don’t bring this up at dinner parties or often even share these with those closest to us.

We are often terrified of failure. That fear may run our lives. It can hinder us to the point of the response of doing nothing. We stand afraid to make choices and remain in a life of monotony. We stop challenging ourselves, or if we do challenge ourselves, we know the game is rigged and will come out the winner.

We should reframe this concept and see it as a step toward success. We will only ever get anywhere meaningful if there is a challenge. Obstacles can create who we are more so than success. If we are wise, we learn from our mistakes and do something different the next time. That next time may be the time you finally succeed.

Standing in the shadows, accepting our fate, or simply playing our assigned role won’t lead to a contented life. Those who stand in the arena and fight and still fail are more courageous than those in the stands who are afraid to compete. What can be worse is those criticizing others when they have never stood in their shoes.

While struggling in military school, my father sent me a printout of Teddy Roosevelt’s speech. This same speech is now framed in my house. The words had a profound effect:

I have attempted many different things in my life, and with that came failure. Failure is a teacher if you listen. Those who ignore this often keep doing the same thing repeatedly and failing. And in the end, blame others.

My failures have given me a chance to refocus and reframe my choices. Failure should not be something to be ashamed of. Those that have failed have tried something. They attempted to dare to do something in their life rather than sit in mediocrity and timidity.

When people ask me about my successes, I would instead tell them about some of my failures. The failures are what brought me my success. Sharing my insight on failure can give others insight on how to avoid the pitfalls I made.

Most people prefer to listen to themselves and disregard some of the hard-earned wisdom given freely. I have found the ego listens to itself, and those that have tried to conquer ego-sharing strategies of success can be ignored.

I have watched this replay over and over publicly. As someone involved in film and having moderate success from nothing, I can see others make the same mistakes, preferring to be stubborn and fail. This may be the precipice to change their route and listen to others that have been there. Maybe not; it’s their choice.

If one is wise, they learn from their failures. If one is courageous, they take chances regardless that they may fail. Failure is what we make of it and how we can learn from it. We are not defined by failure if we keep trying. I would rather be called a failure than a nobody.

--

--

Edward Reid - Writer, Historian, and Philosopher

I am new to Medium, sharing my work, and being active. I'm grateful for your interest in reading my articles.