The story behind the dirty face and scruffy beard.

Photos and text by Edwin Hernandez

Edwin Hernandez
6 min readSep 18, 2015

--

From Los Angeles to New York and from Montana to Texas, homeless individuals exist on street corners and alleys. They sit on curbs or benches holding signs and asking people for some change.

One such man is Clyde, who tells the story of how he became homeless and ended up in Isla Vista Calif. “I was from Connecticut,” said Clyde. “I enjoyed working out on the fields with my friends, and I always enjoyed music.” A white beard and orange hat make Clyde a local legend in Isla Vista. He has been living on the streets here for several years.

Isla Vista, CA

Less than one percent of the 600,000 homeless individuals in America reside in this college town. The Central Coast Collaborative, whose volunteers conduct a poll in Isla Vista every year, reported 81 homeless people in 2013.

Drug abuse, alcohol abuse, and housing markets are factors that plague homeless individuals; however, such categories fail to tell the story behind every statistic. There is a tale to be told behind every statistic and scruffy beard.

“I usually sleep right here on the steps of this church,” said Clyde. He was referring to the local University Church located in the heart of I.V. “I usually kick my feet out and close my eyes and before I realize it, it is a new day.” Growing up, Clyde did not envision himself living on the streets. “I wanted to be an actor,” he said. To his disbelief, Clyde became Internet famous. He had a small cameo in a YouTube video made by local filmmakers. “Yea, I remember the video, they wanted me to do the caterpillar,” said Clyde. “I sort of just wiggled my mustache up and down to make it look like it was dancing.” The video reached over 3 million views and the filmmakers gave Clyde $3,000 dollars for his appearance.

“I usually sleep right here on the steps of this church.” -Clyde

The National Student Campaign Against Hunger and Homelessness claims that one in seven people are at risk of suffering from hunger in the United States, and approximately 3.5 million people experience homelessness each year. Approximately twenty three percent are U.S military veterans, twenty five percent are children under the age of 18, and about thirty five percent are families with children. However, none of these are the reason Clyde lays his head on the gray pavement.

At a young age, Clyde made a mistake that haunted him the rest of his life. “I got in trouble with the law when I was 18, then it was downhill from there.” Due to his decision, all opportunities were shut closed. “I have not been able to acquire a steady job,” said Clyde. “They always ask me about my past experiences, and oh, there goes an opportunity.”

Now at the age of 57, Clyde is humble and generous. “When you are at the lowest, you come to realize many people offer assistance and that is always a great feeling,” he commented. Statistics do not tell the story of a man who traveled from Connecticut to California, lost a wife, has a hit video on YouTube, plays guitar with students, performs in local talent shows and hosts a weekly meal on Fridays to help his fellow peers.

A variety of factors contribute to homelessness. Drug abuse, alcohol abuse, housing markets, lack of a job, personal turmoil, mental illness, and alcoholism are key factors, but according to The National Coalition For Homelessness, foreclosure and poverty are the main causes. Poverty consists of a decreased opportunity of employment and the decline of public assistance. These issues contribute to homelessness and lead a person to lay their head on the black concrete or gray pavement. A man who lives in Isla Vista serves as an example because he fell victim to alcoholism.

The scent of liquor pushes through Jeff’s mouth as he speaks. “I used to be a first mate on a large ship,” said Jeff. “I remember seeing men get thrown off the deck because of the ferociousness of the waves.” This man with hidden talents was sitting down, crisscrossed with a King Cobra 40 oz. malt liquor inches away from his reach.

“I played professional basketball for the Portland blazers,” said Jeff, “Now I got a room and work security down by the Pescadero Lofts.” The fall from grace was a difficult one. “I lost my wife to cancer,” said Jeff. “Now I have been diagnosed with brain damage and have to find a way to Santa Maria. Where is Santa Maria anyway?”

The loss of his spouse impacted Jeff’s life. He spends most of his days drinking beer and reminiscing the little memories he can remember. The significance of Jeff’s story is that emotional depth is not measured by a survey, but through verbal communication. For example, surveys do not explore his personal and emotional story. Another homeless man, Charlie, has also moved around a lot over the years.

Charlie can be found wandering the streets of I.V. “I grew up in Ventura,” he said. “We would walk around with little switchblades to protect ourselves.” From the start, Charlie’s life was a mess. “I had to work the fields with friends over in Camarillo,” he said. He also said he worked for the Israeli army for 50 years. “I lived in a desert once and it was horrible.” He said. “It makes you appreciate the accessibility of water bottles.”

This homeless man does not spend his time asking for change; rather, he researches social issues and ways to reduce water use. “I like to research sociology on my down time because understanding society is helpful during these tough times,” said Charlie. “I also advocate for reducing water use because eventually I will not have access to free water and that can be problematic.” Charlie became interested in social issues because he said, “I have so much free time I better use it to my advantage.”

Many organizations such as The National Student Campaign Against Hunger and Homelessness, The National Coalition For Homelessness, and The National Alliance to End have each proposed solutions for the social issue. Solutions include: increasing access to food, shelter and basic needs. In Isla Vista, a recent project made housing affordable to 32 previously houseless persons.

The Pescadero Lofts are located in Isla Vista and house 32 residents, according to Noozhawk. In 2013, a ten million dollar project began with the intention of sweeping vulnerable houseless people off the streets. Every resident selected was houseless for about 15 years and was given the opportunity to pay rent and live in the lofts.

Rent is flexible as it ranges depending on the income each resident makes. For example, one resident can pay up to three hundred dollars while another only pays twenty dollars. A financial plan that adjusts to individual income is effective because it teaches residents how to become responsible.

Creating the lofts is great progress, as noted by Noozhawk, because it provides a foundation for change. Providing a safe location for the residents eliminates threats, such as trips to the hospital and incarceration. Unfortunately not everyone was guaranteed a spot in the new lofts. Clyde and Charlie are forced to find a place to sleep every night. On the other hand, Jeff has secured a job as security for the Pescadero Lofts.

Homeless individuals overcome adversities and have a unique story as told by Jeff, Charlie, and Clyde. They are significant because their stories are a part of a larger social issue. Case Studies and social experiments produce data, but individual stories create empathy.

It is easy to forget the homeless community in American but they deserve all the respect they can receive. There exists a unique story behind the scruffy beard. As for Clyde, Jeff, and Charlie, they continue to live out their lives to the best of their ability. Clyde sings and interacts with members of the Isla Vista Community. Charlie swims in the ocean and studies during his free time. As for Jeff, he is a security guard and will pursue treatment for his diagnosis. Clyde said it best when he said, “I appreciate the kindness and generosity I receive, and without it, I don’t know where I would be.”

--

--