The Buck

Elizabeth Knotts
2 min readJan 11, 2020

--

I saw something extraordinary on my drive down to my friend’s baby shower. A buck (deer) with antlers was running fast in the opposite direction on the side of the road. He was near the tree line of woods, but close enough to the road to wonder if he may run towards the highway. It was amazing to me what I captured in those brief seconds I saw it all happening. The buck was almost moving with purpose-fear I’m guessing from the highway sounds. But he seemed so sure of what steps to take to keep himself safe. His large body moved forward with what I can only call a faith. Trust in himself. His power, strength, agility. That even though he’s terrified of the unknown, he has a fierce will to keep moving, keep trying. I’m not sure what happened to him after I passed. The last moment I saw him, he was still running that same path. Just straight ahead (not towards the traffic or the woods), but near the tree line. I am thinking that God wanted to give me a sign. A picture of a living creature that he made. A glimpse of what strength and courage looks like. To face fear and still overcome the obstacles that are in front of him. To keep moving, and know that you’re not alone.

--

--

Elizabeth Knotts
0 Followers

Hello, my name is Elizabeth. I am a thinker, and want to share my stories and discoveries. I love to spend time with my family, sing, and write.