Because You Asked Me

edh lamport
1 min readMar 20, 2018

--

Image courtesy Mysticsartdesign via pixabay

Someone, somewhere, looking down at the small

mountain of sugar, melting into the lake of half-and-half

in the bottom of my second cup, once asked me

“Why?”

.

and I, almost full of morning unction, replied,

.

“Not black,

because already the void in my brain is

dark matter, absolute and unfathomable. Until the

bridge is built, sometimes I speak and

even I don’t know what I’m talking about.

.

“But sweet,

because stars sprinkled ‘cross the unpolluted nightscape, fall into

dunes of ephemeral delight, caught with this cup,

awaiting only a liquid vehicle to join the tide in my veins,

where they sweeten the bitter tang of my natural tongue.

.

“And light,

because it leads me, like the moon; awakens me, like sunrise,

softly beckoning my soul to brightness;

bringing comfort to my raw nerves, and buffering the space between

my acerbity and those not yet knowledgeable,

or civilized.”

.

And then I smiled.

--

--

edh lamport

Defying the laws of physics to encapsulate myself in this tiny box with nothing but an alphabet.