Missing

edh lamport
1 min readMay 3, 2018
Image from KIMDAEJEUNG via pixabay

your presence in this world, you who

are silent. Eliot said

“sunlight on a broken column” and

there you are

while we Hollow men, we stuffed men

mill through our stream of

days, tilting,

as the windmills

spin their spindly arms,

windswept, creaking in that

sunlight where you

hide

always.

I miss your presence, here;

you leave me fragments,

pieces, filaments

clinging —

a voice, a face,

your slow grace, drifting,

hovering always

in the periphery;

laughter round a corner as I turn and

you are not there, it is not your hand, soft on my

shoulder, it is not your sweetness against my cheek

it is not the scent of you, though I might find some

fragrant memory, trapped between pages…

suggestions of possibility

heartbreaking and

endless like

sunlight and wind

rushing ever over

the soft

roar

of eternal seas.

--

--

edh lamport

Defying the laws of physics to encapsulate myself in this tiny box with nothing but an alphabet.