Why Typescript is a Must-Have for Any JavaScript Developer: Insights from ‘You Don’t Know JavaScript’

Egi Mata
4 min readJan 5, 2023
Why Typescript is a Must-Have for Any JavaScript Developer

I’m excited to share my thoughts on a topic that has has always fascinated me, has had a significant impact on my career and improving my workflow as a developer: TypeScript.

Considering this is my first blog post about programming I hope that by sharing my insights, I can provide a unique perspective on this subject.

Typescript is a superset of JavaScript that adds optional static typing and other features to the language. It offers a number of benefits for JavaScript developers, including:

  • Improved error detection:
    Static typing enables you to catch errors at compile-time rather than runtime, reducing the risk of runtime errors.

For example, consider the following code written in JavaScript:

function add(a, b) {
return a + b;
}

console.log(add(1, 2)); // 3
console.log(add("1", 2)); // "12"

In the code above, the add function is supposed to take in two numbers and return their sum. However, if we pass in a string for the a parameter, the function will still run and return a concatenated string, "12", rather than throw an error. This can be problematic because it can lead to unexpected behavior in the program.

--

--

Egi Mata

Frontend Engineer • Graphics Software Engineer with a passion for Game Dev. Bridging technical skills & creative vision to deliver great UI & Web Development.