5 tips on reducing anxiety

Egle Valeikaite
2 min readJan 5, 2019

I’ve only recently realised that I have anxiety. When I was 20, I used to be scared to leave the house to go meet friends. I couldn’t explain it at the time, but I still forced myself to do it. Once I canceled my own birthday party an hour before… I simply couldn’t face going out and meeting friends.

I might have grown out of it or learned how to cope with it. The world doesn’t look that scary anymore. In fact, people who know me would say I’m very social these days.

In reality it takes work to maintain my wellbeing. If I slip in any of these, I suddenly feel tired or unmotivated. These 5 tips I’m going to share with you are nothing new, but they helped me to control my anxiety:

  1. Owning a pet. Kitty Chloé nowadays has a great responsibility of making me feel good. Yes, I feed her and look after her but the benefits I get from simply having her with me in the evenings is priceless

2. Excercising. I’ve been excercising for a long time. As soon as this starts slipping, I start feeling restless. So I’ve made apact with myself to never skip a session.

3. Sleeping well. Sleeping is essential for your wellbeing, you also regenerate your cells and rest while you sleep. Your brain needs this time to recuperate.

4. Being in the moment. Some like meditation or yoga. I love dancing, bird watching, listening to music, reading, watching movies. Anything that gets you being in the moment is great and counts as some sort of meditiation. Everyine finds their own way to switch off from the “monkey brain".

5. Eating well. Which means eating good foods, and getting enough nutrients. I don’t like to deprive myself from any foods these days, but what I try to do is eat in moderation.

I’d be interested to know what helps you to feel better and what is your pick me up.

--

--

Egle Valeikaite

Marketing professional @gdsteam. Connect with me on Instagram @egle_valeikaite