My dear Melancholy, by The Weeknd (Album Review)

Yegor Mirnov
3 min readJan 4, 2024
source:https://music.apple.com/ua/album/my-dear-melancholy/1363309866

Looking back at the 2018 release of the Canadian singer.

APPLE MUSIC:
SPOTIFY:

As of late, I have been focusing on the Weeknd’s music catalog, especially his ‘House of Balloons’ and ‘Kiss Land’ material. I believe alternative and psychedelic R&B were the most pre-dominant genres in those two, however on the latter there are some strong experimental notes which I was a fan of.

One of my close friends, who is a huge fan of the Weeknd, says that I should listen to this LP, as it might touch upon similar soundscapes as the ‘Kiss Land’ did, which I enjoyed as a whole.

I attempted to maintain objectivity while writing this review and did not set high expectations. However, it is still clear that my opinion will be mainly subjective, so it is just a formality;

Anyway, let’s get started:

1. Call Out My Name

Alright, this one I know, haha.

--

--